Skip to content

“We Must Do What We Can, With What We Have…”

January 12, 2012

I haven’t blogged in a very long time. Life has caught up with me and this semester I’m going to try my absolute hardest to blog at least once a week, hopefully more. I’ve just started the first semester of my last year of college. I graduate next December and have become accustomed to people asking me “what do you want to do after college?” Before I would always say, “find a job!” However, everyone seems to take that answer negatively.

So what do I want to do after I graduate? Well work in the agriculture industry of course! But when it all boils down I really don’t know which sector of agriculture I want to be involved in. Production, communications, or marketing? What about non-profit work? Or what if I worked in education or with a commodity organization? There are multitudes of choices and on any given day, I can see myself in one of the above sectors.

Currently my passion and focus has been centered on hunger here in the United States and internationally. Did you know that every day 25,000 people die due to hunger? That’s the equivalent to 60 jumbo jets falling out of the sky!

I can check Facebook on four different electronic devices (phone, laptop, IPod, IPad). Right now I’m sitting in my apartment heated to a nice 70 degrees and tonight my roommates and our neighbors are making Beer Can Chicken for supper. I know that I have enough money to pay my rent, utilities, and grocery bills, plus a little extra for some fun here and there. I am extremely blessed and lucky. Unfortunately, many people aren’t as blessed as I am.

So why don’t I do something about it? I recently listened to a speaker who told us “we must do what we can, with what we have.” That quote grabbed me and I find myself thinking of it constantly.

From now on, and in any future career I have, I want to do what I can, with what I have. I’m always going to try and give my best, and be thankful for how blessed I am to have the opportunities and luxuries I have. I encourage all of you to do the same – and if you have any future career advice, it’d be much appreciated 🙂

From → My Opinions

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

